Thursday, 16 October 2014

The ninth edition of the Wole Soyinka Award for
Investigative Reporting opened for submission of entries
on Saturday, October 4, 2014. This happened as the
2013 winners return from a one-week study tour of the
United Kingdom and the conclusion of the 2014 nobel laureate awards.
The Wole Soyinka investigative reporters award is open to any Nigerian professional reporter
or team of reporters (full time or freelancers), who have
produced a published story whether through print or
electronic media (television; radio or online) primarily
targeted at and received by a Nigerian audience.
Entries will be scored by a panel of judges drawn from
the media and related professions who are passionate
about investigative reporting. Towards strengthening the
judging process, the Wole Soyinka Centre for
Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) introduced an entry
coding system that makes the details of media house
and by-line of entrants anonymous to judges in 2012.
This has helped to further increase the credibility of the
award programme.
The 2014 award will honour works that expose
corruption, human rights abuses and regulatory failures
from the print, broadcast (radio and television); online,
local government, photo, climate change, sports, health,
editorial cartoon, and report women categories.
The report women category is introduced this year as a
part of WSCIJ’s Report Women! project. The project is
geared at increasing the reportage of girls and women
issues in the Nigerian media. The award will reward the
most outstanding story that focuses on access and or
abuse status of the girl or woman. The best work in the
broadcast category will also win the VinMartin Ilo grant
for investigative reporting.
The deadline for submission of entries is Friday,
October 24, 2014. Interested reporters may visit for details of the 2014 award.List of 2014 NOBEL LAURETTE WINNER after the jump.


1) The Nobel Prize in Physics 2014:

Isamu Akasaki , Hiroshi Amano and Shuji
“for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting
diodes which has enabled bright and energy-
saving white light sources”.

2) The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014:

Eric Betzig , Stefan W. Hell and William E.
“for the development of super-resolved
fluorescence microscopy”.

3) The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
John O’Keefe , May-Britt Moser and Edvard I.
“for their discoveries of cells that constitute a
positioning system in the brain”.

4) The Nobel Prize in Literature 2014
Patrick Modiano.

“for the art of memory with which he has evoked
the most in-graspable human destinies and
uncovered the life-world of the occupation”.

5) The Nobel Peace Prize 2014:

Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai

“for their struggle against the suppression of
children and young people and for the right of all
children to education”.

6) The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic.

Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2014
Jean Tirole
“for his analysis of market power and regulation”.

posted by: @djshyluckjimmy.

Leave a Reply